Top CyberSecurity News For October 23rd 2016

  1. What IoT (and Security) Needs to Learn From the DeWalt Mitre SawFrom SANS Security Awareness Blog. I recently purchased my first power tool ever, a DeWalt Compound Mitre Saw, an intimidating piece of machinery that can not only rip through huge pieces of wood, but potentially chop your hand/arm clean off. As such I was very nervous when I received it, to include reading through the safety manual several times and numerous YouTube videos. Once I had reviewed everything and started playing with this tool, I came to an amazing realization. This device is so well designed from a safety perspective that I would have to try really hard to harm myself. Even better I did not have to really think about all the safety measures as they were built into the device, they were designed to work with me, not against me. I list some of the key safety features that impressed me at the bottom but something really else hit home for me. Why are we struggling so hard to do the same for security? Right now IoT is one of our biggest security challenges, with millions of IoT devices being used for DDoS attacks. The challenge? People are not changing the default passwords. Our communities response? Security professional around the world are lamenting why people are so stupid/lazy as not to change the default passwords.
Leave a Reply

